top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYara ElShazly

How it started

Hi 🌻

I figured I'll start this by introducing myself, who am I and what do I do?

I'm Yara, I turn 20 on the 10th of November. Born and raised in Egypt. I just finished my second year in college, studying design. Hoping to start my career with an Interior Design Diploma. (My studies have very little to do with painting which is a surprise to many)


There was a period in my life when I stopped drawing altogether without even noticing, I guess that lasted for four years or more, but for very personal issues. I believe this happened for a reason, though, so no regrets!


In 2016, I was wandering around in a local stationery in Cairo, when I saw a woman grab these toothpastes-looking tubes. I was so intrigued I felt the need to ask her about it which almost never happens! She was very sweet and told me these are called oil paint, just like acrylics, but thicker and I also saw her grab a canvas. I rushed out of there and immediately looked up classes near me. I couldn't stop talking or thinking about it and I felt like that little girl that drew and painted daily for years.


The classes I took are the reason I am where I am today. My instructor touched my heart and I couldn't be more thankful for such a healthy and inspiring start. I've experienced with so many mediums, acrylics, oils, charcoal and more, but oil painting is what spoke to me best. Maybe I'll write about the difference between all of them based on my experience. Right now, I'm celebrating two years of opening my online art gallery, @yarasgallery on Instagram and Facebook. I share my journey with each painting, trials and errors, and talk about every milestone hoping to inspire people around me to work towards what they're passionate about. It takes a lot of faith, effort and hate to say it, but mainly practice!

~ I'll attach a photo of myself after my first painting class, you'll be able to tell how happy I was.


12.7.2016


I hope I didn't bore you, the coming posts will be all about Art and if there's something specific you'd like me to talk about, please let me know. ❤️

Thank you so much for reading!

-Yara ElShazly

154 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page